Now getting your Handgun License can fit your schedule…
Take the first four hours of Texas DPS required learning material in the comfort of your own home. You will have the flexibility to go at your own pace, leave the course and come back to where you left off and the ability to review any lesson if you feel you need additional time to learn the material.
or… Finish in just one day! That’s right— start today and you can be on the range tomorrow! Our online course is educational, engaging and interactive, which makes the classroom portion more enjoyable.
The owners and staff at HANDGUNLICENSE.COM have strong moral values with the utmost integrity, dedication and knowledge.
Helpful & Knowledgeable staff.
Our team is certified to teach.
State of Texas.
We are a state approved provider and our online handgun license course is approved by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS).
Avoid possible issues with not being a resident of that state. Be safe and have knowledge of Texas Laws.
(State law requires that you take your course from a state-approved provider.)
“Love the fact that I could take the course at my own pace & the step by step instructions from start of course to licensing was on point. I have recommended family and friends to this course. Thank you so very much!”
“Owning a business and having kids keeps me busy and it’s hard to find time to take a day to sit in a class. The online service allowed me to take the class at my own pace after the kids are in bed. Michele was an immense help and got me set up for my shooting portion quickly and close to home.”
“Quick, easy, and very informative curriculum! The price is amazing for all the information and how quickly you can get certified. I definitely recommend to anyone looking for their LTC education certification.”
The Concealed Handgun License (CHL) was replaced with License to Carry Handgun (LTC) in January of 2016 (House Bill 910). Any individuals with a valid existing (CHL) license are free to carry a handgun openly and/or concealed under the new License to Carry (LTC) laws— but if your’ (CHL) has expired or you are looking to get your License to Carry (LTC) for the first time.
Our LTC Course is State approved and updated with the most current laws in Texas!
Most people have many questions before attaining their License to Carry. Browse our FAQ’s or, call us at 817-888-8339 to speak to our staff today!
For a full list of the Texas Department of Public Safety’s eligibility requirements and their specific processing questions, please visit the Texas Department of Public Safety website. http://www.dps.texas.gov/RSD/LTC/faqs/index.htm or call 512-424-7293.
Once you complete the online portion with us at HANDGUNLICENSE.COM, and print your LTC-101 certificate, you will take this certificate to an instructor to complete the following 1 to 2 hours at the range:
(FYI: You will pay the instructor directly for this portion.)
PLEASE NOTE: Your instructor is not responsible for teaching you how to handle or shoot a gun. The instructor will provide 1-2 hours of basic range safety prior to your proficiency exam. If you feel that you are not ready for your range proficiency test, and you would benefit from some basic training on weapon handling and firing, please schedule additional training with an instructor. (Additional range fees may apply.)
NOTE: This can be done with any approved LTC instructor, although if you need assistance, HANDGUNLICENSE.COM works with instructors all over the state of Texas and will help provide names and numbers to help you find just the right instructor for you.
Once you successfully complete the online classroom portion, the basic range safety and range proficiency test, and have submitted your application to the DPS, you can upload your completed/signed LTC-101 certificate to the state.
(Please review “Steps to LTC” on our website for more information and access to links for information and/or uploading.)
Once you submit your application with the DPS you will be able to make your reservation for fingerprinting with IDENTOGO. Per the Texas DPS, you will not be able to get your fingerprints done at any other company and fingerprints you may have on file with the DPS will not transfer to the LTC program. IDENTOGO will conveniently email your fingerprints directly to the DPS for you. The cost is $9.95 plus tax. For more information please visit their website at https://www.identogo.com/
The LTC-101 certificate is good for 2 years starting at the completion date of the online course. The proficiency demonstration will also need to be completed within that two years and submitted to the Texas Department of Public Safety for processing.
FYI: You may submit your application for a License to Carry with the TX DPS either before or after you take our online license to carry course.
PLEASE NOTE: Once you upload an application to the Texas DPS you will only have 90 days to complete the process with them or you may have to pay an additional application fee to them to finalize the process.
After you submit the following with the Texas Department of Public Safety: DPS application; completed and fully signed LTC-101 certificate; and have complete your fingerprinting, the Texas DPS will normally process your license within 60 days or before.
(If you have any questions regarding the processing of your application, please call the Texas DPS at 512-424-7293)
Initial licenses are valid for four years. Renewal licenses are valid for five years. (License may be subject to an earlier expiration based on lawful presence status.)
Renewals are done through the Texas Department of Public Safety. The renewal application can be done online through their website or by following the instructions on their website to process the application by mail.
PLEASE NOTE: Once your license expires, you will have to begin the entire LTC process again.
House Bill 910 became effective January 1, 2016.
New Title Caption: License to Carry Handgun (LTC)
Yes. Individuals who hold a valid CHL may continue to carry with a valid existing license. A separate or new license will not be required to carry openly under HB 910.
No. Should you wish to receive the newly designed license, a replacement license may be obtained by submitting duplicate/change of address form. This form can be found under downloadable forms at:https://www.dps.texas.gov/RSD/