Once you’ve practiced shooting a while, you’ll likely want to start carrying a handgun for your personal protection. In Texas, there are a few simple steps you need to complete before you can obtain your license to carry (LTC). The good news is that many of the necessary steps are available to get your LTC online. During these strange times, that means that you can obtain the necessary training and registration largely from the safety of your home.
Some examples are the following: You must be at least 21 years old, unless you are current military. You also must demonstrate that you are a law-abiding citizen. To meet this criterion, you must have not been convicted of a felony or a Class A or B misdemeanor. You also must be up to date on child support payments, if applicable, and not be subject to a restraining order. Finally, you must not have been diagnosed with any condition that impairs your judgment, mood, or impulse control. You’ll find complete eligibility information on the Texas DPS website. If you meet all the DPS eligibility criteria, you can move forward with the process to obtain your LTC!
Enroll in the Online Course
HANDGUNLICENSE.COM offers a 4-hour training course, full of material approved by the Texas Department of Public Safety. This convenient online course covers the basics of gun law and gun rights, how to successfully conceal and/or open carry your gun, and what to know about gun safety. After you complete the course, you’ll be given the top portion of a signed LTC-101 form that you will need to complete the process. Note that this course does not teach you how to handle or shoot a gun. We recommend that you develop basic proficiency with a weapon before completing the 1 to 2-hour range portion of the process to get your LTC.
Pass Your Range Proficiency Test
Unfortunately, this part cannot be done online. However, it will only take one to two-hours of your time. In this portion of the license process, you will receive basic instruction in safety on a gun range. You’ll then be asked to demonstrate your proficiency with the weapon in the Range Proficiency Test. Again, the LTC process does not entail basic gun training, so make sure that you’re ready to ace the exam before you even register for the range portion with an instructor. Once you’ve completed the range proficiency test, your instructor will sign the bottom two sections (A and B) of the LTC-101 form. Be sure to also sign the bottom of the LTC-101 yourself.
HANDGUNLICENSE.COM is more than happy to help direct you to an instructor to perform this part of the LTC process, as well as someone who can help you develop your gun skills before you take the range proficiency test. You may be exempt from this part of the process if you are active-duty military.
Register with the Texas Department of Public Safety
After you’ve completed the online training and successfully passed the range proficiency test, it’s time to register with the state. You can apply online, as long as you have a valid drivers’ license or other ID and other necessary documentation. To start this process, make sure that you have information about your resident, employment, criminal history, and medical history. Then, start the online process. You’ll need to have a Visa, MasterCard, Discover, or American Express card to pay the required application fees. The fees are non-refundable, so it’s worth it to have all your information lined up to make sure that your application can be processed correctly. If you neglect to include something, DPS can legally ask for more information. This could delay your application by up to 180 days.
Submit Your Fingerprints
Once you’ve completed the registration process, you’ll need to get your fingerprints taken. There is an additional fee for this service, which entails visiting a location and having your fingerprints collected. Nowadays, this is done through a digital process that ensures high accuracy in your fingerprint record.
Put It All Together
Once you have both portions on your LTC-101 form signed, your fingerprints on record, and your application in the queue, you can upload all necessary items to the DPS’s Regulatory Services Division. You must have submitted the LTC application before attempting this part of the process. If you don’t, the DPS site will direct you back to the application. Once everything is uploaded, it usually takes a few weeks to process, although, your LTC application can take up to 60 days. If you meet all qualifications and follow the process described above, this timeframe often shortens to just a few weeks or even a few days. Once you receive the physical license, you can legally begin carrying your handgun.
Your LTC will be valid for four years. To renew the license, you would go back into the DPS registration portal where you initially filed the LTC application. Renewal licenses are valid for five years. Note that if there is a gap between your license’s expiration and the arrival of a renewal, you cannot legally carry within that timeframe. As a gun owner, you should also be aware of any restrictions on where you can carry. For example, college campuses often prohibit handguns.
HANDGUNLICENSE.COM is a leader in Texas gun training and education. We aim to fully prepare Texas gun owners to successfully get their license to carry. By taking our course, you can obtain the confidence and knowledge you need to legally and safely carry a handgun. Follow the above steps carefully to avoid any delays in your application process and be sure to take our online course for optimal training and education!