Texas LTC Online Class
In Texas, License to Carry (LTC) became effective on January 1, 2016 and covers both the former Concealed Handgun License (CHL) and the new Open Carry law. Those with a valid CHL may continue to use their CHL license until it expires. To legally carry a handgun, whether concealed or open with shoulder or belt holster, you must complete four hours of classroom (or online) training and one to two hours of range training plus proficiency test with a licensed gun instructor. There is a separate charge for the range portion of the training.
How Does the Texas License to Carry Course Work?
Step 1: Check your eligibility
Step 2: Register with HandgunLicense.com – $69.99
Register online to take the best online license to carry (OLTC) course in the State of Texas. This course includes 4 hours of required classroom training. All training material was reviewed and approved by the Texas DPS.
Step 3: Register with an Affiliate Instructor
After completing the online course, you will need to complete 1-2 hours of range training plus your proficiency testing with a licensed instructor. The concierge at HandgunLicense.com will be available to help you find the best location and the best instructor for you. Call 1-817-888-8339. ** Additional range fees may apply.
Step 4: Register with the Texas Department of Public Safety
$40 – Special prices for active and retired military.
Step 5: Submit Fingerprints
Schedule Online with Identigo.
Click here to schedule and complete your fingerprinting.
You must use this code: 119Q91
Step 6: Items Needed
- Top half of LTC-101 from HandgunLicense.com from online provider
- Bottom two parts of LTC-100 from Certified Instructor
- State Issued Driver License or US Passport or Certificate of Naturalization
- For Veterans – DD 214 – Click Here
- For Active Military/Reserve – Military ID and additional – Click Here
Step 7: Upload all items to the Texas DPS
Step 8: Allow for Processing
This could take up to a few weeks but most of the time it is just a few days.
Is It Legal to take an Online Handgun Course in Texas?
You may take a course that has the approval from the Texas Department of Public Safety. HandgunLicense.com has been certified by the Texas DPS. Click on Certificate to View.
The following online courses tell you they are approved by the state of Texas but are not, have never been and most likely won’t ever be.
These companies are very misleading to Texas residents. They tell you that they are Texas approved but in reality, you will get a Virginia license. Though it is legal to carry a gun using the Virginia license due to the reciprocity law, these companies are using a loop-hole and it is only a matter of time before the state of Texas tightens that loop.
Once you complete this four hours of online training, you will be qualified to take the final requirement: Range instruction and an actual demonstration by the applicant of the applicant’s ability to safely and proficiently use a handgun.