Texas DPS approved four hour online License to Carry course.
- Basics of Texas Handgun Laws
- Handgun Use and Safety
- Non-Violent Dispute Resolution
- Proper Storage Practices
Texas License To Carry became effective on January 1, 2016 and covers both the former Concealed Handgun License (CHL) and the new Open Carry law. Those with a valid CHL may continue to use their CHL license until it expires. To legally carry a handgun, whether concealed or open with shoulder or belt holster, you must complete four hours of classroom (or online) training and one to two hours of range training plus proficiency test with a licensed gun instructor. There is a separate charge for the range portion of the training.
Steps to Licensing
Step 1: Determine Eligibility
A person is eligible for a license to carry a concealed handgun if the person:
- is a legal resident of this state for the six-month period preceding the date of application under this subchapter or is otherwise eligible for a license under Section 411.173(a); or if the person relocates to this state with the intent to establish residency in this state.
- is at least 21 years of age;
- has not been convicted of a felony;
- is not charged with the commission of a Class A or Class B misdemeanor or equivalent offense, or of an offense under Section 42.01, Penal Code, or equivalent offense, or of a felony under an information or indictment;
- is not a fugitive from justice for a felony or a Class A or Class B misdemeanor or equivalent offense ;
- is not a chemically dependent person;
- is not incapable of exercising sound judgment with respect to the proper use and storage of a handgun;
- has not, in the five years preceding the date of application, been convicted of a Class A or Class B misdemeanor or equivalent offense or of an offense under Section 42.01, Penal Code, or equivalent offense;
- is fully qualified under applicable federal and state law to purchase a handgun;
- has not been finally determined to be delinquent in making a child support payment administered or collected by the attorney general;
- has not been finally determined to be delinquent in the payment of a tax or other money collected by the comptroller, the tax collector of a political subdivision of the state, or any agency or subdivision of the state;
- is not currently restricted under a court protective order or subject to a restraining order affecting the spousal relationship, other than a restraining order solely affecting property interests;
- has not, in the 10 years preceding the date of application, been adjudicated as having engaged in delinquent conduct violating a penal law of the grade of felony; and
- has not made any material misrepresentation, or failed to disclose any material fact, in an application submitted pursuant to Section 411.174.
- For the purposes of this section, an offense under the laws of this state, another state, or the United States is:
- a Class A misdemeanor if the offense is not a felony and confinement in a jail other than a state jail felony facility is affixed as a possible punishment.
- (b-1) An offense is not considered a felony for purposes of Subsection (b) if, at the time of a person’s application for a license to carry a concealed handgun, the offense;
- has been diagnosed by a licensed physician as suffering from a psychiatric disorder or condition that causes or is likely to cause substantial impairment in judgment, mood, perception, impulse control, or intellectual ability;
- suffers from a psychiatric disorder or condition described by Subdivision (1) that:
(A) is in remission but is reasonably likely to redevelop at a future time; or
(B) requires continuous medical treatment to avoid redevelopment;
- has been diagnosed by a licensed physician, determined by a review board or similar authority, or declared by a court to be incompetent to manage the person’s own affairs; or
- has entered in a criminal proceeding a plea of not guilty by reason of insanity.
- Notwithstanding Subsection (d), a person who has previously been diagnosed as suffering from a psychiatric disorder or condition described by Subsection (d) or listed in Subsection (e) is not because of that disorder or condition incapable of exercising sound judgment with respect to the proper use and storage of a handgun if the person provides the department with a certificate from a licensed physician whose primary practice is in the field of psychiatry stating that the psychiatric disorder or condition is in remission and is not reasonably likely to develop at a future time.
- Notwithstanding Subsection (a)(2), a person who is at least 18 years of age but not yet 21 years of age is eligible for a license to carry a concealed handgun if the person:
- is a member or veteran of the United States armed forces, including a member or veteran of the reserves or national guard;
- was discharged under honorable conditions, if discharged from the United States armed forces, reserves, or national guard; and
- meets the other eligibility requirements of Subsection (a) except for the minimum age required by federal law to purchase a handgun.
- The issuance of a license to carry a concealed handgun to a person eligible under Subsection (g) does not affect the person’s ability to purchase a handgun or ammunition under federal law.
Step 2: Register with HandgunLicense.com - $49.99
Register online to take the best online license to carry (OLTC) course in the State of Texas. This course includes 4 hours of required classroom training. All training material was reviewed and approved by the Texas DPS.
Step 3: Register with an Affiliate Instructor
Once you complete this four hours of online training, you will be qualified to take the final requirement:
- Range Instruction – Basic Range Safety
- Range Proficiency Test – Actual demonstration by the applicant of the applicant’s ability to safely and proficiently use a handgun.
(FYI: You will pay the instructor directly for this portion.)
PLEASE NOTE: Your instructor is not responsible for teaching you how to handle or shoot a gun. The instructor will provide 1-2 hours of basic range safety prior to your proficiency exam. If you feel that you are not ready for your range proficiency test, and you would benefit from some basic training on weapon handling and firing, please schedule additional training with an instructor.
(Additional range fees may apply.)
NOTE: HANDGUNLICENSE.COM works with instructors all over the state of Texas and will help provide names and numbers to help you find just the right instructor for you.
Step 4: Register with the Texas Department of Public Safety
$40 – Special prices for active and retired military.
Step 5: Submit Fingerprints
Schedule Online with Identigo.
Click here to schedule and complete your fingerprinting.
You must use this code: 119Q91
Step 6: Items Needed
- Top half of LTC-101 from HandgunLicense.com from online provider
- Bottom two parts of LTC-100 from Certified Instructor
- State Issued Driver License or US Passport or Certificate of Naturalization
- For Veterans – DD 214
- For Active Military/Reserve – Military ID
Step 7: Upload all items to the Texas DPS
Click the link below to acces the Texas DPS to upload your items:
Step 8: Allow for Processing
This could take up to a few weeks but most of the time it is just a few days.
State Approved Handgun Courses
Don’t be fooled by online courses outside of your state who claim they can get you licensed.
If you are not a resident of that state, your license does not hold. State law requires that you take your course from a state approved provider.